Sitting down in a café for four hours straight hearing injustice being discussed at the next table is only bearable when you can rant about it in any means you feel comfortable with… so here I am. Yes, for four hours, the group of adults next to my table have been jumping topics from one to another but never deviating from the main discussion of business. Since I have business of my own finishing reports and homework, I have held my opinions to myself until I can bear it no longer—and that point was when they have started to criticize one profession and business to another. Now I wouldn’t mind people expressing their opinions how they think insurances are not worth investments, but when you start laughing at nuns and priests for “praying for blessings” instead of “working for it” and comparing students who value finishing school vs successful unfinished students; I just explode inside.

Point #1: It’s not a contest. A profession is not just a job, it’s the choice of people how to live their lives. It is injustice to look at a person’s worth based on how much he earns, what position he has, or whether or not he owns a business or not. Why should you compare chefs, cleaners, teachers, dishwashers, drivers, accountants, writers with one another when they have different skillsets? I definitely salute you if you can clean a room spick and span under an hour because I can name 100 people who can’t clean their own room from ceiling to floor in a day (and I’m at the top of the list).

Point #2: Education and Training are investment choices. Investment advantages differ from one person to another. These days, undermining education is becoming such a trend. I rant and stress about homework, project and going to school every morning as much as next student but that doesn’t mean I hate learning. Education is much more than studying, it’s a discipline. A business school graduate can be just as good as a manager as an experience-based person. Theory and application comes hand in hand; thinking one is better than the other is a mistake. Every theory needs to be practiced and every application needs to be systemized. Learning mistakes from application is much more memorable but much more painful. Learning from theory is less likely to emotionally strain but less likely to be remembered. It’s a balance.

Point #3: There is no time limit. You and I don’t have the same timeline of life; no two people have. So what if a person became a millionaire or a superstar overnight? We all traverse different roads, our lives may intertwine but we never travel the same highway. Everyone can choose to live their lives at their own pace. There is no speed limit. Just because they’re both 20 and one is a manager and the other’s a student means one is better than the other. Just because 40 people are in the same grade and class doesn’t mean the valedictorian is a better person than the 39 others students. Do you want to be asked what you achieved when you were 12 while there’s a 12 year old out there constructing his own robot and winning a Nobel Prize? I don’t think so.

 

Image Source: http://casecollective.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/professions.jpg

